• Book Review

    Tender is the Flesh

    His wife has left him, his father is sinking into dementia, and Marcos tries not to think too hard about how he makes a living. After all, it happened so quickly. First, it was reported that an infectious virus has made all animal meat poisonous to humans. Then governments initiated the “Transition.” Now, eating human meat—“special meat”—is legal. Marcos tries to stick to numbers, consignments, processing. Then one day he’s given a gift: a live specimen of the finest quality. Though he’s aware that any form of personal contact is forbidden on pain of death, little by little he starts to treat her like a human being. And soon, he…

  • Book Review

    No Beauties or Monsters

    For fans of Veronica Mars and Stranger Things comes an all-new YA mystery about a girl whose desperate search for her missing friend unearths dark secrets, preternatural threats, and a truth that could ultimately tear her family, friends, and town apart. Welcome to Twentynine Palms, where nothing is what it seems. Rylie hasn’t been back to Twentynine Palms since her dad died. She left a lot of memories out there, buried in the sand of the Mojave Desert. Memories about her dad, her old friends Nathan and Lily, and most of all, her enigmatic grandfather, a man who cut ties with Rylie’s family before he passed away. But her mom’s…

  • Book Review

    Powerful Purples

    The citizens of Winter suffer through a ceremony with deadly surprises and Harlow is caught up in the politics of Summer in a way that she never expected. Can our friends get their happy ending or will war overtake everything?  My Thoughts  Thank you so much to NetGalley and the author for this ARC in exchange for an honest review! What an amazing ending to such an action packed and unique series. This installment provided me with everything I wanted and things I didn’t even know I needed!  The last installment left me in such a funk because I had no idea where the story could possibly go from there.…

  • Book Review

    Harlow has been through the ringer. Her connection to Alex has been severed and her whole life is a mess. Will she be able to make up for the rash mistakes she has made or will she and everyone else around her suffer because of her actions.  My Thoughts  I am so extremely grateful to have received this ARC in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much to NetGalley and the author for this amazing opportunity!!  I was SO excited for this sequel and I am so thankful for the author for getting it to us so quickly. The ending of the first book was AMAZING and such…

  • Book Review

    Flowers for Alegnon

    Summary Charlie Gordon is okay about how his life turned out, he only wishes that he could be smart. When a group of psychologists are looking for a candidate for an experiment to make you smart, Charlie begs to be their choice. However, will this change bring about good or bad things for Charlie?  My Thoughts  I decided to read this book as one of the twelve books I wanted to read before I turn 30. I have heard so many things about this book since high school. However, no one is really detailed about why they liked the book. All they would say is either, “it was SO GOOD,”…

  • Book Review

    Empress of a Thousand Skies Duology

    Summary Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an’s family was murdered and she has been hiding on a distant moon waiting for her coronation. She has been waiting for this day, but not to ascend to her fated throne, but for revenge on those that killed her family.  Empress of a Thousand Skies My Thoughts  I found this book when I was scrolling through Amazon one day and I just had to have it. The summary sounded amazing and that cover is top notch. Although I did enjoy the book world, I found myself liking some characters more than others.  The book is told through two perspectives, Rhee, the crown princess, and Alyosha,…

  • Book Review

    Cat’s Cradle

    Summary Dr. Felix Hoenikker’s entire life revolves around science his whole life and when he died, he left something a little special for his children. A writer interviews his family and discovers that their father’s last gift may be more harmful than helpful.  My Thoughts  I’ve been a fan of Kurt Vonnegut Jr. and his crazy and outrageous stories for a long time. I mean I read most of his books in college so unfortunately this book was a LOT for me. It really took me back to the days of my college literature classes so it was an adjustment to read this over my normal romance, fantasy, and thrilling…

  • Book Review

    Glitter Series

    Summary In the Palace of Versailles, the people live very different lives. They live the life of those from the distant past where Marie Antoinette said, “Let them eat cake,” and the people lived the life of luxury at the expense of others. When Danica, a low member of these out of touch members, sees something horrible, her mother will use that to her advantage and make her rise in the ranks, no matter if she wants it or not.  My Thoughts  This was such an interesting concept for a book and knew from the beginning that I just had to read it! The book world in this series is…

  • Book Review

    Vengeful Review

    Summary Marcella Riggins has been done wrong. She is a smart, savvy and gorgeous woman married to one of the most powerful mob bosses in Merit City. She was the perfect wife, but when her husband betrays her, she will become just a little vengeful….  My Thoughts  OMG! THIS BOOK WAS KILLER LITERALLY AND FIGURATIVELY. I enjoyed this book so much better than the first for one reason and one reason only, Marcella Riggins….  Marcella Riggins was an instant love character for me from the moment she started talking. Yes, she is bloodthirsty, evil, manipulative, conniving, and vengeful, but this girl has been through hell and back and she didn’t…

  • Book Review

    Chosen Ones Review

    Summary Ten years ago, the five chosen defeated the Dark One and saved the world. However, that was ten years ago and though the world has moved on, the five chosen haven’t. When an explosion occurs and a chosen one dies, will the chosen be able to save the world again?  My Thoughts  Well, this book was nothing like I thought it was going to be and it was AMAZING! Move over boring superhero books, Chosen Ones is an interesting twist on the aftermath of saving the world and a big dose of mental reality.  I mean think about it, if you were told as a teen that you were…